top of page

lyvia hughes

she/her

Meet lyvia

A Southern Albertan transplant, I moved to Edmonton to further my career. As an extrovert, it’s not uncommon to find me looking for my next adventure and having spent my entire life in Southern Alberta, the move was a big one. I packed up my two teenagers, two cats, and a newly acquired puppy to see what big city living had in store for me. I have been here since 2022, and am enjoying exploring the city and surrounding areas.


I seemed to always know that psychology was where my passion lay. I was always seen as the “peace-keeper” in situations, and seeing other succeed filled me with great joy. I started the journey
early on, having started post-secondary at the age of 17. My life took me on a bit of a detour, providing me with two young kids shortly after, and my dreams were put on hold. During that time, I
continued to pursue other passions such as my love of writing, and crocheting.

After I went back to finish my degree in Psychology at the University of Lethbridge I worked in the field of disabilities for some time. I learned many valuable skills during that time, such as the ability to
advocate for another. I obtained my Masters of Counselling Psychology from Yorkville University while I worked with the organization.

image0(2)_edited.jpg

I have spent a good portion of my volunteering for non-profit organizations, having also founded one for a short time. Primarily, I focused a lot of my time and energy to marginalized populations such as Lethbridge PrideFest, YQueerL, and Didi’s Playhaus - a theatre space/club for the queer population, as well as Southern Alberta Pagan Association - which was focused on creating and fostering a community for the Pagans, Wiccans, Witches, Heathens, and Druids of Southern Alberta.


As I continued my education, I became aware of what fields I wanted to specialize in. I knew that I wanted to work with individuals who partook in a Consensual/Ethical Non-Monogamous (CNM or ENM) lifestyle as well as people who were in the kink lifestyle, and I wanted to obtain certification in sex therapy and sex education. I continued to pursue these passions after graduating, learning and
obtaining a post-grad certificate in Sex Therapy.


In my spare time, I am usually writing, journaling, crocheting, or pursuing some dance classes. Since coming to Edmonton I have taken Swing, Burlesque and Pole dancing classes.

.

The greatest piece of advice I've received:

The best advice I have ever gotten was when I was pregnant with my first. “Don’t listen to anyone’s advice. Everyone will have something to say. Do what feels right for you.”

Something on my bucket list:

I love being as close to the water as I can get, and I love boating. So, a cruise has been at the top of my bucket list for as long as I can remember.

My top 3 values:

Authenticity

Empowerement

Growth

If I was an animal I'd be...

An eagle. I have found them to be beautiful, graceful and magical creatures. My second choice would be a wolf.

I have a day totally to myself, with no obligations. Where would you find me?

Depends on the day. Either out exploring the trails in the city, walking down Whyte Ave, or sitting at home, bingeing Greys Anatomy, or Gilmore Girls while I work on one of the many many crochet projects that I have started.

Besides my work, a special skill of mine:

The ability to make fast friends, no matter what environment I am in.

My Myers-Briggs personality type:

ENFJ: The Mentor

My Work

Populations I Work With
  • Adults of all ages

  • Couples

  • Groups

Areas of Practice
  • 2SLGBTQIA+ issues

  • Anxiety

  • Couples work

  • Depression

  • Ethical Non-Monogamy (ENM)

  • Gender Identity
  • Relationships
  • Sex Therapy
  • Trauma
My Therapeutic Modalities
  • Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT)

  • Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT)

  • Dialectical Behviour Therapy (DBT)

  • Gottman Method Couples Therapy (Level 2 Training)

  • Sex Therapy

bottom of page